2019 Mid American recap – Soangetaha CC – Galesburg, Illinois


The first Mid American Hickory Open is in the books. Thirty four players had a very wet, rain delayed first day. We dodged a bullet the second day, watching severe weather pass by to our north, and finished in sunshine. Thank you to the staff at Soangetaha Country Club in Galesburg, IL for letting us continue. You know it’s wet when your golf cart leaves a wake behind you.

In spite of the weather we had some memorable play by Bill “Ernie” Ernst winner of the Open division, George Burgland winner of the Senior and Dan Nordstedt winner of the Statesman. Scramble Team event was won by the verteran Hickory players from Des Moines made up of Russ Fisher, Bill Reed, John Ausen and John Piffer.

We welcomed eight new players to the hickory game, including two ladies.  A good time was had by all, thanks to the welcoming efforts of the Head Pro, Kirk Hosteng, the catering staff and of course, the bartenders. Thanks also to George Burgland “member” host who’s contribution was essential. This is a great place for a Hickory event. We look forward to returning in May of 2020.

In 2020, Soangetaha will be celebrating their 125 Anniversary.  We plan on having a one day Gutty event in advance of the two day Hickory Event to honor the early beginnings of this fine course. Soangetaha C.C. was founded in 1895 and the Tom Bendelow design provides a fun and challenging round of golf.  The club has hosted 10 state championships, 2 national tournaments over the years and now a Society of Hickory Golfers event.

Completed Results:

Open Division         Champion, Bill “Ernie” Ernst  162                2nd Place, Rick Woedkener  169

Open Reserve        Champion, Jim McGraw  net 151                 2nd Place, Kirk Watson   net 158

Senior Division        Champion, George Burgland  158               2nd Place, Bert Coghill    161

Senior Reserve        Champion, Mark Larson net 139                 2nd Place, John McKenzie net 143

Statesman                Champion,  Dan Nordstedt 188                   2nd Place, Peter Herrington  212

Statesman Reserve   Don Madelung

Scramble Team                       Russ Fisher, Bill Reed, John Ausen and Peter Piffer


About Author

Bill Ernst

Bill "Ernie" Ernst is a Society of Hickory Golfers Board member and a coordinator of the Wisconsin Hickory Golfers.

Leave A Reply